User Licenses and Permissions
Reporting Intelligence uses licenses and roles to control what users can do.
Licenses control what a user can do within each module: Reports Center, Data Hub, and Intelligence Layer. Each user is assigned one of four licenses: Admin, Designer, Power User, or Viewer.
Note: The Power User license doesn't apply to Intelligence Layer and Reports Center.
Roles control access to administrative tasks. Users with the Account Manager role have access to Administration, where they can create users and assign licenses. The Admin license doesn't give access to Administration.
In summary, by module:
- Intelligence Layer: Users with the Admin or Designer license have full access. Users with the Viewer license can view and enable or disable rules, view results, and manage their own subscriptions, email digest, and notifications.
- Reports Center: All licenses have the same access in their private workspaces. Limitations apply to a Public Workspace.
- Data Hub: Users with the Admin, Designer, or Power User license can create, edit, and delete connections and replication tasks. Users with the Viewer license can test connections, run tasks, and view logs, but can't create, edit, or delete them.
- Settings: Controlled by Reporting Intelligence Admin.
The tables below use the following symbols:
- ✓: The license includes this permission.
- –: The license doesn't include this permission.
Intelligence Layer
| Functionality | Admin | Designer | Viewer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rules | |||
| View rule | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| View rule status | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Enable rule | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Disable rule | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Create rule | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Update rule | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Delete rule | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Copy rule | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Validate rule | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Change rule owner | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Run rule | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Results | |||
| View result | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscriptions | |||
| View rule subscriptions | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Subscribe to rule | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Update subscription | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Delete subscription | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| List my subscriptions | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Email digest | |||
| View email digest | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Set digest schedule | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Enable digest | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Disable digest | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Set empty-digest option | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Resend digest | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Notifications | |||
| Stream notifications | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| View notification | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Dismiss notification | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Users | |||
| View user | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Find user by email | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| View user settings | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Update user settings | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| API keys | |||
| List API keys | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Revoke API key | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Logs and settings | |||
| View logs | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Update logs | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| View settings | ✓ | ✓ | – |
Reports Center
| Functionality | Admin | Designer | Viewer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Private folders | |||
| Create folder | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Edit folder | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Delete folder | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Private report actions | |||
| Upload report | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Run report | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Favorite report | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Download latest output | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Download template | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Open in Excel Online | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Edit report | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Schedule report | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Share report | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Move report | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Change ownership | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Publish as Business View | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Delete report | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Public workspace report actions | |||
| Run report | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Download latest output | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Download template | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Power BI reports – report actions | |||
| Open embed | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Open in Power BI (external) | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Power BI reports – connection configuration | |||
| Configure connection | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Delete connection | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Report schedules | |||
| Create schedule | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Edit schedule | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Delete schedule | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Business Views | |||
| Delete business view | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
Note: In the Public Workspace, users with any license can only run reports and download the latest output or template. Creating, editing, and deleting folders, as well as uploading, editing, scheduling, sharing, moving, changing ownership of, publishing, and deleting reports, are available in private folders only.
Note: Business Views are automatically shared with your entire organization when they're created. You can't edit a Business View after it's created; you can only delete it.
Data Hub
| Functionality | Admin | Designer | Power User | Viewer |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Connections | ||||
| Create connection | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Test connection | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Edit connection | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Delete connection | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Manage Oracle BICC Metadata (Oracle ERP Cloud connections only) | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Replication tasks | ||||
| Create task | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Run all tasks | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Run task (individual) | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Enable or disable schedule | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| View logs | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Activity logs | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Edit task | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Delete task | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Integration Resources | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ |
| Provision Env | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |